::Saint Pats pesto::

Saint Patricks Day is a good time to finish up your root vegetables and start dusting off your spring recipes.  Local produce is on it’s way and lighter meals are easier to put together.  I’m not Irish, and I know passing up corned beef and cabbage is probably committing some kind of crime, but today I’m serving pasta with homemade pesto.  Being green, it at least fits the color scheme…

This is another recipe that is slim on ingredient count but big on flavor.  You need:

1 cup fresh basil loosely packed (the picture shows more like 2 cups)

1/3 to 1/2 cup pine nuts

2-3 cloves garlic

fresh parm

1/4 to 1/3 cup olive oil

S&P

Start by rinsing your basil (organic just needs a light spray) and remove the leaves from the stem (if you purchased on-stem basil).

Mmm garlic. I bet 98% of the dishes I make include it.   Smash, remove the peels, and roughly chop.  Place it in the food processor right on top of the basil .

Add the garlic right on top…

These two ingredients pair so well together and combined, flavor so many traditional dishes.  Next add your pine nuts, right on top…

And then add a generous amount of Salt and Pepper…

Although I have the standard 4 sided cheese grater, I got this smaller microplane as a Christmas gift this past year and it works perfectly for my parm.

Grate some right on top.  A hefty amount.  I know I can be pretty vague with measurements but I really just cook to taste… and you can never go wrong with more parm.

It’s so good, it deserved two pictures.

Now pulse, blend, pulverize, chop…whatever verb your food processor uses.  My $6 version just has ‘high’ and ‘low’ so I let my fingers jump around between the two a few times.

Really, you’re just looking for a thick paste and for all of the ingredients to have been chopped down so that they are in similar sized pieces.

The last step is to add your olive oil in slowly, by shifts.  Add a few tablespoons, then process until smooth, add a few more tablespoons and process, etc. until you get the consistency you want.  I like my pesto a bit thicker and less oily so I only add about 1/4cup of oil.  Adding more is fine, just remember the more oil you add the more you are cutting down the flavor concentration of the basil/garlic/parm/pine nut mixture.

This is a great make ahead meal.  And it’s not dinnertime yet.  So I use an empty ice cube tray and spoon my pesto in, making sure to leave a little room on top for expansion.   The pesto will freeze great, you don’t even need to cover the tray, and it will last at least a month.  Now all you have to do is cook some pasta and pop out a few cubes of pesto and add one to each serving.  I often spoon a bit of the hot pasta water into the bowl with the pesto too just to make sure it has enough moisture to cling to the noodles.

If my green pesto isn’t enough to make this post Irish, here’s some Irish proverbs I found to help it along…
A cabin with plenty of food is better than a hungry castle
Irish Saying

Here’s to eyes in your heads and none in your spuds.
Irish Toast

Get down on your knees and thank God you’re still on your feet.
Irish Saying

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “::Saint Pats pesto::

  1. Sunshine

    this is the kind of thing I was talking to you about yesterday…seriously- let’s cook and make a cookbook together this summer…we can even show the food go from the garden to the table :). YAY! can’t wait!

  2. ohhhh yes we can! Absolutely. We can sell it at the campus store! Haha. EXCITED.

  3. Mom :)

    I’ll say it before Dad does, you tickle me Kay! 🙂 Love you so much!

Leave a Reply

