::fine felines::

My childhood cat died a few days ago.  She was 17, and I got her as a Christmas gift when I was 7.  I know not everyone understands the impact pets can have on families, but even my family members who had a love-hate relationship with Abby (ahem, Dad) were sad to see her go.   One of my biggest regrets is not taking a good picture of her.  As much as photography should be considered an art form, the reality is that good photography is also great documentation.  Documenting moments, people, places…details of life.

I figured since I couldn’t really ‘document’ Abby, I could at least learn from my mistake and make sure I remember to document my current pets- Merri and Pippin- the kittens who were abandoned last summer in the woods in Angelica, NY and who moved down to GA to live with us.

They nap.  A lot.  But for about 18 and a half minutes right after they’ve moaned and groaned for, and rapidly consumed their dinner, the cats sit around and talk to us.  They pose.  They move their heads in tune with whomever is speaking.  They yawn at our mundane conversation.

Then they pounce off in chase of one another’s tails, quickly lose interest in juvenile games, and curl up once again.  To nap.

PS– My Grandma bought the bells.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “::fine felines::

  1. Heather

    I’m so to hear about your cat, Kay! I know how hard it is, I lost my childhood dog last year!

    The last photo in the curtains is so cute! 🙂

Leave a Reply

