::sand(bagel)wich::

I’ve got this friend. We’ll call him E. There are lots of things I like about my friend E. He’s an amazing musician and inspiring lyricist.  He takes big risks and seeks out adventure. He loves spontaneity and embraces people of all kinds and cultures.  But my favorite thing about E, is his ability to share his feelings.  And by ‘share his feelings’ I don’t mean express his political viewpoints in an extremely cultured manner (that would be my friend W, whom we’ll save for another post). What I mean is that E will, at any given moment, look you straight in the eye and tell you that he loves you. Simply because he really does.  I’m sure our friends can recall numerous times where we’ve been sitting around, laughing ourselves to tears and in that moment of silence that hangs after we’ve all enjoyed a round of giggles E will, with a large and poetic sigh, exclaim ‘I love you guys’.

It might seem like a small thing to most, but I find his ability to do this extremely admirable and humbling.  I can barely whisper an ‘I love you’ when my Dad has me in a bear hug, and the anniversary card I picked out for my husband fell into the category of ‘cards for people who can’t express their feelings’. The focal point of the card was about me (as the card giver) always being right (this time in the fact that the card receiver was a pretty cool person). It’s not an easy thing for me to express verbally how I feel about people. But E can do that.  And I like that about him.

That being said…what I can do is cook.  And I find pleasure in cooking for people I love. Although it might seem like a minimal expression compared to E looking you in the eyes and saying he loves you with a straight face, it still feels great to fill bellies and listen to my friends munching and chatting happily from my spot behind the sink or stove.

Last weekend some of our closest and best got together for a big reunion.  Sunday morning I got up early, snuck into the kitchen, and made breakfast for my friends. It’s not as direct as E- but it’s how I tell them I love them.

Bagel Sandwiches:

Bagel sandwiches are simple and quick. They make a great weekend breakfast or easy dinner.  Plus, depending on the ingredients you use, they can combine every food group.  I started by sauteing some chopped red onion in a bit of butter.  Then I whisked eggs, egg whites, S&P and a splash of milk (figure 1 egg for every sandwich) and added it to the onion.  Cook the mixture omelette style.

Since we were in the city I picked up some Wegmans bagels but toasted bread would work well for these sandwiches too.  After cooking the egg simply toast the bagels and assemble with whatever ingredients you have on hand.  I spread cream cheese on my bagel but a hearty slice of cheddar or colby jack would be great.  Spinach, tomatoes, more onion, feta, sunflower seeds, or bell peppers are tasty additions.

Another thing I like about this is that is proves that there are quick and easy ways to eat vegetarian meals.

Pumpernickel is my bagel of choice.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “::sand(bagel)wich::

  1. Mom B

    Looks good! and I appreciated the meal you made for us the other night to show us that you love us! 🙂 We love you!

  2. Stef

    Dear Kay,
    You are exactly right about E (and W :))
    your post made me smile. a lot.
    I miss my friends.
    🙂

  3. richie roy

    looks yummy, when do i get mine?!

  4. elizabethjancewicz

    I agree

Leave a Reply

